National War Memorial – New Delhi, India

National War Memorial – New Delhi, India

National War Memorial, New Delhi

The National War Memorial New Delhi, India has been built to commemorate the sacrifice of soldiers who died for the country. The memorial, conceptualized after Indo – China War in 1962, has been built to commemorate the valour and sacrifice of soldiers, who laid down their lives for the country. “It is a tribute to our fallen heroes and the bravest of the brave.

Highlights of National War Memorial : Names of the 25,942 soldiers who died in multiple conflicts after Independence have been engraved in gold on granite tablets, and placed on 16 ‘honour walls’ in two concentric circles named ‘Tyag Chakra’.

Spread over an area of approximately 40 acres, the memorial comprises four concentric circles, namely: the Amar Chakra, the Veerta Chakra, the Tyag Chakra and the Rakshak Chakra with names of 25,942 soldiers inscribed in golden letters on granite tablets. It also includes a central obelisk, an eternal flame and six bronze murals depicting famous battles fought by Indian Army, Air Force and Navy in a covered gallery (Veerta Chakra).

The National War Memorial will not replace the Amar Jawan Jyoti which was built in 1972 underneath the India Gate arch to commemorate soldiers killed in the Indo-Pak War of 1971. The memorial will remain intact, a senior army officer told the news agency PTI.

Key Points of National War Memorial :

  1. More than 25,000 soldiers have died during the Indo-China War in 1962, the Indo-Pakistan wars in 1947, 1965 and 1971 and the conflict in Kargil in 1999.
  2. The National War Memorial also commemorates the soldiers who died in United Nations peace-keeping missions, Humanitarian Assistance Disaster Relief (HADR) operations and counter insurgency operations.
  3. Built at a cost of Rs. 171 crore, the memorial has a 15.5 metre tall tower, with an eternal flame and 16 circular walls of honour on which names of 25,942 martyrs have been written in gold on granite walls. The pattern of the walls symbolizes, “Chakravyuh“, the ancient Indian war formation.
  4. The design of the memorial comprises four concentric circles, namely the “Amar Chakra” or Circle of Immortality, the “Veerta Chakra” or Circle of Bravery, the “Tyag Chakra” or Circle of Sacrifice and the “Rakshak Chakra” or Circle of Protection.
  5. Statues of the 21 Param Vir Chakra awardees have been installed at the Param Yoddha Sthal and include those of three living awardees – Retired Subedar Major Bana Singh, Subedar Major Yogendra Singh Yadav and Subedar Sanjay Kumar.

The National War Memorial is being moulded as a “national centre for civilian engagement and reverence for the forces”. Over 250 people will be able to visit it at a time. The project was approved by the Cabinet in 2015, and its total cost has been pegged at Rs 176 crore.

Address : Mahatma Jyoti Rao Phule Marg Area, India Gate, New Delhi, Delhi 110001

Leave a Reply

scroll to top